Nature of Chakras

Chakra One: Muladhara

Focus: Noticing gravity, and moving SLOWLY and deeply to really feel all aspects of the body 
    Kundalini: Butt bounce and roll, Knee lifts with breath
    Bandha: Mula Bandha
    Pranayama: Complete breaths, especially on exhale
    Partner exercises: Earth skiing, slap hands, foot massage
    Meditation: Earth element, roots going down, four petals, with square and downward pointing triangle, Shiva lingam, Kundalini coiled
    Color: red
    Seed sound: lam
    Vowel sound: Oh
    Mudra: Press the pads of the little fingers together

    Chakra Two: Svadhisthana

    Focus: Moving fluidly, like water, feeling sensuous with movements, noticing sensation
    Kundalini: Pelvic rocks with breath while sitting
    Pranayama: pelvic breath
    Bandha: PC muscle pumps (women: kegels; men, flex while erect)
    Partner exercises: join hands, bent with straight back; lean back to back and roll
    Meditation: Water element, fluid flow, six petals, with half moon
    Color: orange
    Seed sound: vam
    Vowel sound: Ooo (as in you)
    Mudra: Press the pads of the little fingers together

    Chakra Three: Manipura

    Focus: Moving with will and purpose, energizing limbs and torso, building chi
    Kundalini: Seated belly rolls
    • Breath of Fire (Kapalabhati)
    • Bastrika
    Bandha: Uddiyana Bandha
    Partner exercises: Willful arm lifts, towel pull, space invasion, statues,
    Meditation: Fire element, energy distribution, strength, will, ten petals, with downward pointing triangle,
    Color: yellow-gold
    Seed sound: ram
    Vowel sound: Ah (as in father)
    Mudra: Press the pads of the ring fingers together

    Chakra Four: Anahata

    Focus: Working from breath, allowing breath to be deep, breath to move the body
    • Anuloma Krama (inhale-hold, inhale-hold, etc.)
    • Viloma Krama (exhale-hold, exhale-hold, etc.)
    • Nadi Sodhana Alternate Nostril
    Kundalini: twisting torso with wings out
    Bandha: Mula bandha and jalandhara bandha
    Meditation: Air element, spaciousness, love, balance, ease, twelve petals, intersecting triangles
    Color: green
    Seed sound: yam
    Vowel sound: Ay (as in play)
    Mudra: Press the pads of middle fingers together

    Chakra Five: Vissuddha

    Focus: Moving with sound, letting sound move the body, releasing through sound
    Pranayama: Ujjayi
    • General toning
    • Seed sounds and vowel sounds of the chakras
    Bandha: Jalandhara bandha (chin lock)
    Ether or sound as element, resonance, harmony, vibration, sixteen petals, downward triangle
    Color: bright blue
    Seed sound: ham
    Vowel sound: ee (as in see)
    Mudra: Press the pads of index fingers together

    Chakra Six: Ajna

    Focus: Internal seeing, imagining energy moving, visualizing the chakras during posture
    • Alternate nostril(Nadi Shodona)
    Meditation: Light as element, visualize colors, deities, or shapes of the chakras, rainbow meditation, lotus with two petals
    Color: indigo or white
    Seed sound: om
    Vowel sound: mmm
    Mudra: Press the pads of thumbs together

    Chakra Seven: Sahasrara

    Focus: Awareness of body, awareness of awareness, witness consciousness, releasing attachment
    • Alternate nostril (Nadi Shodona)
    Meditation: thousand petaled lotus, transcendent or cosmic consciousness, unity, wisdom
    Color: violet or white
    Seed sound: none
    Vowel sound: nnggg (as in sing)
    Mudra: Press the pads of thumbs together